What’s a Gluten Free Pizza Garnish?

What’s a Gluten Free Pizza Garnish?

Gluten Free PizzaPreparing a gluten free pizza can be intimidating to restaurant owners. And while creating a gluten free pizza dough is often the most challenging part, those toppings and sauces also have to remain gluten-free. So what sauce can you use as a pizza garnish, and ensure it doesn’t have a trace of gluten?

The good news is that gluten is mainly found in wheat products such as whole wheat and all-purpose flour, rye and barley. Once you find a great gluten free crust however (such as the one we offer at DeIorios,) you’re fairly free to use whatever type of sauce you’d like. But you should still keep it simple, for those that are extra sensitive, or that just want something different.

Tomato sauces are okay to use but again, keep it simple. Use just tomatoes, garlic, onion, and some traditional herbs such as oregano and basil. This will make you a scrumptious sauce that will make even the gluten-free purists happy. If you want to go a different route, basil pesto is a great option for pizza crust, but you can use a simple garlic and olive oil sauce as well. Or go for something really different and try a bit of hummus – all those peas are a gluten-free diet’s best friend!

Don’t stress too much about the sauce you use when offering gluten-free to your customers. The crust is what you need to focus on and after that, pretty much anything is fair game.